Conference Description

The North Carolina Area Health Education Centers (AHEC) Program and Winston-Salem State University School of Health Sciences
co-hosted the 2012 North Carolina Health Professions Diversity Conference on August 29 – 30, 2012 at the Grandover Hotel and Conference Center in Greensboro, NC. The theme of the conference was “Showcasing Success in Creating Equity in Opportunity.”
This two-day conference focused on showcasing models and strategies that have proven successful in recruiting and retaining students in health professional programs as well as maintaining a diverse workforce setting. It also focused on creating networks, partnerships and collaborations with others around the state of North Carolina that share the same interests in creating equity in opportunity in the health workforce..

Target Audience

This conference targeted chancellors and presidents of higher education institutions, deans, chairs and faculty of health related academic programs, faculty and administrators of secondary schools, government officials and policymakers, healthcare administrators, foundation members, nonprofit organizations with a healthcare focus, professional societies, practicing health professionals, and students.


  • Determine the status of diversity in the health professions in the state of North Carolina
  • Showcase “successful” best practices in North Carolina and the nation’s health professions diversity
  • Network with key leaders, administrators, educators, practitioners and students

Planning Committee Members:

  • G. Rumay Alexander, EdD, RN
  • Renee Godwin Batts, RN, MSN
  • Paula Borden, MA
  • Michelle Boyd, MS
  • Cedric M. Bright, MD, FACP
  • May Cheung, MSN, RN-BC
  • Maureen Cullins, AM D
  • Vanessa Duren-Wineld, MS
  • Charletta Sims Evans, MEd
  • Jacquelyn Hallum, MBA, MHA
  • Virginia Hardy, PhD
  • Brenda Latham-Sadler, MD
  • Carolyn Mayo, PhD
  • Brenda Everett Mitchell, MS, CCC-SLP
  • W. Mark Moore,
  • Elijah Onsomu, MS, MPH, PhD, C
  • Bernard Roper, PhD N
  • Todd Savitt, PhD T
  • Alice J. Schenall, MPH, MCHES, RHEd
  • Tara Owens Shuler MEd, LCCE, FACCE, CD (DONA)
  • Greg Tanner
  • Sharon H Thomas, MSW
  • Carla White, BS, Pharm, RPh
  • Cornell P. Wright, MPA

Conference Chairs

  • Thomas Bacon, DrPH
  • Peggy Valentine, EdD, FASAHP
  • Jacqueline Wynn, MPH

Keynote Presenters:

  • Erin Fraher, PhD, MPP
  • Freeman Hrabowski III, PhD
  • Joseph R. Betancourt, MD, MPH

Conference Sponsors:

Platinum Level Sponsors


  • NC Schools of Medicine
    – Duke University School of Medicine
    – The Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University
    – The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine
    – Wake Forest School of Medicine
  • Silver Level Sponsors
  • Campbell University
  • North Carolina Community College System
  • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Department of Allied Health Sciences
  • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill UNC
  • Eshelman School of Pharmacy
  • Winston-Salem State University School of Health Sciences

Honorable Mention Level Sponsors
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Nursing.